2024 Ablah nominees

Vantage Staff

Many Newman University students picked up awards during last week’s Academic Awards Convocation, which happened on April 10 in DeMattias Performance Hall.

During the event, nominees were announced for one of Newman’s biggest awards: the Ablah Awards, which are handed out each year at Newman’s graduation ceremony to one male and one female undergraduate student. This year’s ceremony will be on May 10 at Hartman Arena.

The female Ablah Award nominees are seniors Marie Brunet, Ashley Dinh, Elise Helfrich, Jackie Jackle, Kayla Kindsvater, Catherine Madison, Olivia Parsley, Alexis Stallard and Hadassah Umbarger. The male nominees are Henry Cheatum, Joshua Dessenberger, Austin Fullerton, Nathan Huie, Asher Khokhar, Sam Roy and Antonio Ureno.

Another big winner at the Academic Awards was senior Thomas Munn, who was awarded the prestigious St. Catherine’s Medal, which recognizes a student who has made big contributions both to Newman and to the community at large.

PHOTO: Courtesy photo, Unsplash