Jetspys recap: Newman athletes bring home the hardware

By: Austin Schwartz, Staff Writer

The annual athletics award festival, the Jetspys was held this Tuesday. The event recognizes and rewards outstanding performances from student athletes, teams and behind the scenes performers for athletic events.

The main awards on the night given out included the Mr. and Mrs. Jet Award. The awards are given to a male and female athlete who truly represents Newman University. This years winners are Juniors Hayden Vandepol and Lauren Esfeld.

Esfeld said that it was not only a special feeling to win the big award, but also to share it with someone she is close with.

“I never imagined I would even be nominated for such a big award,” she said. “It was also special that Hayden won Mr. Jet because we are best friends and he is my Vice President for SAAC next year.”

A full list of award winners is below:

Female Gamechanger of the Year

Abby Borough - Volleyball

Male Gamechanger of the Year

Israel Barnes - Men’s Basketball

Female Rookie of the Year

Riley Daugherty - Volleyball

Male Rookie of the Year

Stevie Strong - Men’s Basketball

Female Wingman Award

Lauren Esfeld - Women’s Tennis

Male Wingman Award

Ian Lecki - Baseball

Community Outreach Award

Women’s Soccer

Ghost Rider

Elsie Helfrich - Women’s Cross Country

360 Turn Around Team


Special Ops Award

Richard Rico - Photography

Breakthrough Athlete of the Year

Natalie Morales - Volleyball

Game of the Year

Softball - Coach Gutsafon’s 600th win

Comeback Athlete of the Year

Gustavo Gil - Men’s Tennis

Play of the Year

Luke Mills - Men’s Soccer

Supporting Role Award

Kayleigh Roberts

Male Top Gun Award

Deandre Johnson

Female Top Gun Award

Jada Key

Female Maverick Award

Imani Jones

Male Maverick Award

Tyler Push - Baseball

Male Best of the Best Award


Female Best of the Best Award

Women’s Tennis

Scholar Team Award

Women’s Golf

Male Athlete of the Year

Tyler Push - Baseball

Female Athlete of the Year

Riley Daugherty - Volleyball

Mr. Jet Award

Hayden Vandepol - Baseball

Ms. Jet Award

Lauren Esfeld - Women’s Tennis

Best Dressed Woman

Marlie Wagner - Women’s Triathlon

Best Dressed Man

Diego Futosa

PHOTO: Austin Schwartz, Staff Writer